Uncategorized

Tuscan Low Salt Bread

Several weeks ago I checked out “The Bread Bible” by Rose Levan Beranbaum from the library. Her writing is engaging, and the recipes sound wonderful too…except they almost all call for ingredients I don’t keep on hand, with the main problem being bread flour.

I finally found one that I could make, and I documented as much of the process as I could remember…with my handy new phone, no less! I joined the world of smart phones a few weeks and taking pictures is just so darn easy! So I’ll hopefully be able to keep this blog a bit more interesting with photos for you all!

So, without further ado, Tuscan Low Salt Bread:

photo-10 copy

Mixing the biga. (My first time to use a biga in bread making.)

Pretty smooth, and ready to rise for an hour.

Pretty smooth, and ready to rise for a day.

Ready to mix the biga with more flour, yeast, and water.

Ready to mix the biga with more flour, yeast, and water.

photo-6 copy

Super dry to start with.

photo-7 copy

Getting better.

photo-4 copy

All mixed together, and ready for the next 6 hour rise. Wish I would have gotten another picture to show how much it rose before I shaped the loaf.

photo-3 copy

Last 30 minute rise while the oven preheats.

photo-2 copy

Puffed up a little unevenly in the oven… I still need more practice shaping my loaves that aren’t baked in a sandwich pan.

photo-1 copy

Had to put this one in color to show the beauty of this squash, kale, white bean stew! I love eating local, seasonal produce!

The bread was noticeably no/low salt, but dipped into this stew–pretty delish! Can’t wait to try more of Rose Levy Beranbaum’s recipes soon.

You can buy her book here and I would say it’s worth the price if you are a regular bread baker. She is very thorough in her instructions, giving alternative directions for mixing by hand, in stand mixers, food processors, or bread machines when recipes allow. Every recipe is also broken down into percentages of the weights for each ingredient, so you can easily manipulate, multiply, or divide quantities. I obviously can’t vouch for the success of any of the other recipes in the book, but I’m confident she knows her stuff!

Standard

Leave a Reply

