Food and Cooking, Photography

Foto Friday No. 7

1

This might be the last “Foto Friday” since I need to keep trucking along if I want to get any closer to my finish line of accomplishments for this project. I think I’ve learned a lot about food photography, forced myself to be more thoughtful in taking pictures and setting up a shot, and I definitely have much greater respect for the amount of work it is!!

Today’s photos are of  kale salad with carrot-sesame dressing. I found this recipe for sesame carrot noodles from the blog “Clean Wellness” and whipped up a batch of just the dressing last week. I was planning to actually follow the whole recipe, but ended up tossing the dressing with a big bunch of kale, and it was delish. Like, I-ate-it-for-every-lunch-all-week-delicious. Granted–I have an unusual capacity for eating the same thing over and over without getting sick of it, but I’m already dreaming of a way to modify the recipe into a carrot sesame soup so I can justify (essentially) just eating the dressing for a meal.

Anyways–the point is–this dressing was amazing. You should definitely consider giving it a try.

I’ve also been on a bit of a coconut kick lately (helloooo, coconut butter!) so I thought, what could be better than adding some coconut into the dressing? I gave it a try today, and here you have it: my own modified, carrot-sesame dressing for a kale salad.

8

Kale Salad with Carrot-Sesame Dressing

Ingredients:

1 bunch kale (washed, thinly sliced, and massaged)

2-3 carrots (washed and/or peeled and sliced)

scant 1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

2 tbsp. sesame seeds (or tahini, which I probably what I would have used if I wasn’t out)

2 1/2 tbsp. soy sauce

1 tbsp. fresh ginger (tip: keep ginger root in the freezer, and just cut off as needed for recipes)

1/4 c. plus 1 tbsp. white wine vinegar

2 tbsp. water

1 1/2 tbsp. sesame oil

1/2 tsp. chili pepper flakes

1 tbsp. maple syrup

2

3

4

5

Steps

1. Put all ingredients except for kale into a blender, and blend until smooth.

2. Toss dressing with kale.

3. Enjoy. : ) It’s that simple!

The dressing will make about 1 1/2 cups. Depending on how much dressing you like and how large your bunch of kale is, you might have leftover dressing. Not that anyone’s complaining about that. : )

11

9

10

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

